Yesterday, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the artists that are up for induction next year. These 19 finalists will be on the ballot that's being sent to the voters.

The official class will be announced in December and the ceremony is happening next April in New York City.

Getty Images

Here's the list of nominees:

  • Bad Brains
  • The Cars
  • Chaka Khan
  • Chic
  • Depeche Mode
  • Electric Light Orchestra
  • Jane's Addiction
  • Janet Jackson
  • J. Geils Band
  • Joan Baez
  • Joe Tex
  • Journey
  • Kraftwerk
  • MC5
  • Pearl Jam
  • Steppenwolf
  • Tupac Shakur
  • Yes
  • The Zombies.

More than half are first time nominees: Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, ELO, Jane's Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, Pearl Jam, Steppenwolf, and Tupac.

Apparently, the Rock Hall just couldn't wait to nominate Tupac, because they jumped on him in his first year of eligibility. Pearl Jam was the only other one that got a nomination in their first year.

The biggest 'snub' from the newly eligible acts is definitely Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch. It's also shocking that they didn't nominate Joan Osborne, LFO, Right Said Fred, Spin Doctors, or Ugly Kid Joe.

Other 'serious' possibilities include: Live, PJ Harvey, Alanis Morissette, The Cranberries, Crash Test Dummies, Tori Amos, and Boyz II Men.

They're doing a fan nomination again this year. You can cast your vote for your five favorite nominees at