The World Video Game Hall of Fame in Rochester, New York just announced its brand new group of entries. It's only the third class since the Hall of Fame opened and, like the previous two classes, it pulls from a few different eras.


The four games that are going in this year are:

  • The "Donkey Kong" arcade game.
  • The first in the Pokemon series, "Pokemon Red and Green" for the Nintendo Game Boy.
  • "Street Fighter II," which debuted on the Super Nintendo.
  • "Halo: Combat Evolved" for the first Xbox.

Some of the games that were considered but didn't make the cut are "Wii Sports", "Solitaire" for Windows, "Mortal Kombat", "Resident Evil", "Myst", and "Tomb Raider".

The four new games will join the 12 that are already in the Hall of Fame:

  1. "Pac-Man"
  2. "Super Mario Brothers"
  3. "Pong"
  4. "Tetris"
  5. "DOOM"
  6. "World of Warcraft"
  7. "Oregon Trail"
  8. "Grand Theft Auto III"
  9. "The Legend of Zelda"
  10. "The Sims"
  11. "Sonic the Hedgehog"
  12. "Space Invaders"

More From 97X